Skip to content

How we compare

Salon booking systems, side by side.

What the best-known systems in the UK charge for a month, for new clients and for AI phone answering, taken from each company's own website. Checked 16 October 2026.

Salonly

Prices read from our own catalogue

Monthly price
Solo £19, Salon £49, Pro £99 a month
Commission or fees on new clients
None, ever
AI phone answering
Included on every plan (30 calls a month on Solo, 100 on Salon and 200 on Pro)
Free trial
14 days, no card needed
Text messages
75, 250, 600 a month included, then 8p each
Minimum term
12 months, billed monthly

Fresha

Monthly price
Independent £14.95 a month; Team £9.95 per team member a month
Commission or fees on new clients
20% of a new marketplace client's first appointment (minimum £4) + VAT
AI phone answering
AI Concierge, £79.95 per location a month
Free trial
7 days
Text messages
20 free a month (per team member on Team), then 6p each
Minimum term
No minimum commitment

Where it may suit you better: Fresha runs a marketplace where clients look for salons, and its plans have no minimum commitment. If you want new clients from a marketplace, or a plan you can leave at any point, it may suit you better.

Salonly or Fresha, in full

Sources, checked 16 October 2026: fresha.com/pricing, Fresha help: marketplace new client fees

Treatwell

Monthly price
Monthly fee not published
Commission or fees on new clients
35% + VAT on a new marketplace client's first booking
AI phone answering
AI Receptionist, from £69 a month
Free trial
Not stated
Text messages
Not stated
Minimum term
Not stated

Where it may suit you better: Treatwell runs a marketplace where clients find salons, and it takes no commission on repeat bookings. If you want to be found there by new clients, it may suit you better.

Salonly or Treatwell, in full

Sources, checked 16 October 2026: treatwell.co.uk/partners/pricing, treatwell.co.uk AI Receptionist

Phorest

Monthly price
By quote only
Commission or fees on new clients
Not stated
AI phone answering
Front Desk AI, answering by SMS and WhatsApp
Free trial
No free trial
Text messages
7p to 9.5p each, by plan
Minimum term
Not stated

Where it may suit you better: Phorest prices each salon by quote, sets the software up for you and includes things Salonly does not have, such as gift vouchers, consultation forms and staff commission. If you want those, it may suit you better.

Salonly or Phorest, in full

Sources, checked 16 October 2026: phorest.com/gb/pricing, phorest.com/gb AI features

Booksy

Monthly price
£40 a month + VAT, £5 a month per extra user
Commission or fees on new clients
Boost: 30% (minimum £5) + VAT, only when switched on
AI phone answering
AI Receptionist in beta on its US site, not on its UK pages
Free trial
7 days, no card needed
Text messages
500 marketing texts a month, then 5p each; reminders free
Minimum term
Monthly, no commitment

Where it may suit you better: Booksy is one flat monthly price with every feature, 500 marketing texts and no commitment, and its Boost fee only applies if you switch Boost on. If you are happy there and do not need an AI front desk, staying may be simplest.

Salonly or Booksy, in full

Sources, checked 16 October 2026: biz.booksy.com/en-gb/pricing, biz.booksy.com AI Receptionist (US)

Timely

Monthly price
From £4 a week (Run), £7 (Boost) or £9 (Thrive), set by your bookings
Commission or fees on new clients
No new client fees
AI phone answering
None on its pricing page
Free trial
14 days
Text messages
Included for each booking, then 4p to 8p each by plan
Minimum term
14 days' notice

Where it may suit you better: Timely charges by how many bookings you take each week, with unlimited team members and 14 days' notice to leave. If you take only a few bookings a week, it may cost less.

Salonly or Timely, in full

Source, checked 16 October 2026: gettimely.com/pricing

Moving from one of these?

We bring your clients, services and future bookings across for free, on every plan, and check them with you on a short call.

Every figure comes from the company's own website on the date shown, and links to where we read it. "Not stated" means the pages we checked did not say, not that the system lacks it. Prices change, so check with each company before you decide. If anything here is out of date, please tell us and we will correct it. Trade marks belong to their owners.

Why salons choose Salonly

We built Salonly around what UK salon owners say they are tired of paying for.

  • No commission on any client, new or returning, and nothing taken from deposits
  • Prices published in pounds, with no setup fee and the price fixed for your 12 months
  • The AI front desk on every plan, answering and booking by phone
  • Booking on your own website with one line, or your own link
  • Patch-test rules built in, and health notes kept with explicit consent
  • Export everything in one click, and a free switch in

When a marketplace makes sense.

Marketplaces can bring you clients who would never have found you. Their commission is the price of those clients, and if you want that, a marketplace may be worth it. Salonly does not run a marketplace: it is for the clients who already know you, booking with you directly.

Your salon, fully booked. No commission.

Start free for 14 days with no card, and we move your clients across for free.